The Pepsu Road Transport Corporation, Patiala was set-up on 16th of October, 1956 under the provision of the Road Transport Corporations Act, 1950 with a view to provide efficient, adequate, economic and properly co-ordinated operation system of Road Transport Services in the State. It commenced passenger transport operations with a meagre investment of Rs. 25.00 lacs and the fleet of 60 buses covering 11,107 daily scheduled kilometers on 15 routes with 345 employees. At present, the PRTC had 811 owned & 104 KM Scheme ordinary buses, 12 Integral Coaches under KM Scheme and 26 own HVAC buses, being operated on 577 routes (including inter-state routes) by covering a daily mileage of 355827 kilometers. It has 1310 Regular Employees, 1755 Through Outsourcing, Total 3065 employees as on 30.04.2016. There are 9 depots of the Corporation located at Patiala, Bathinda, Kapurthala,Barnala, Sangrur, Budhlada, Faridkot, Ludhiana, Chandigarh .

Corporation Profile

The Head office of the corporation is situated at Patiala. The operation of the bus services by PRTC is not only confined to Punjab State, but it has also been providing bus services to the neighboring states like Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal and Union Territories of Chandigarh and Delhi.

The PRTC provides services not only on intercity routes but also links the remote villages with the nearby towns and cities. It is also extending free/concessional travel facilities to various categories of commuters as per the instructions of the State Govt. from time to time.


Pepsu Road Transport Corporation is governed by the Board Of Directors headed by the Chairman. The Managing Director is the Chief Executive of the Corporation who is assisted by Addl. Managing Director alongwith the officers of the various branches in the Head Office. The General Manager heads the Depot Administration and is assisted by various branch officers.


PRTC is having 9 depots all over Punjab.

Bus Stands Owned and Operated by PRTC are as following :

  • Patiala
  • Sangrur
  • Kapurthala
  • Bathinda
  • Talwandi Sabo
  • Budhlada
  • Faridkot
  • Phagwara
  • Ahemadgarh
  • Moonak
  • Bassi
  • Pathana
  • Raman
  • Patran
  • Amloh
  • Zirakpur